Founded by Badr ad-Dīn Ḥasan—Nūr ad-Dīnʾs foster brother and one of his leading emirs—towards the beginning of the thirteenth century, al-Madrasā al-Badrīyyā was converted into a congregational mosque in 1242-1243 CE. By the seventeenth century, the building was in ruins. The turbā—the only structure remaining today—features a ribbed dome set on two drums and has preserved its painted ornamentation almost intact: floral interlace, plaited Kufic inscriptions, flower vases, and lamps.
Photo credit: Michel Écochard, mid-1930s.
Gérard Degeorge. Damas: Des origines aux Mamluks. L'Harmattan 1997 (p. 227).

No comments:
Post a Comment